Alton Educational Foundation

We enhance educational opportunities, support academic excellence and encourage student achievement in the Alton School District.


Guardians of Education – Recognition




Honor Roll

$5 minimum

Name in Newsletter Name on AEF Website

High Honor Roll

$50 minimum

Honor Roll Rrecognition plus AEF Car Decal


$250 minimum

High Honor Roll Rrecognition plus Name in Local Media Invitation to Annual Breakfast 4 tickets for District event(s) of choice


$500 minimum

Salutatorian Rrecognition plus 12 more tickets for District event(s) of choice Name on engraved plaques in each school buildings


$1000 minimum

Valedictorian Rrecognition plus Unlimited access to all District events Name on individual plaques in each school buildings


Founded in 2001, the Alton Educational Foundation (AEF)’s mission has always been to enhance educational opportunities, support academic excellence and encourage student achievement in the Alton School District. The AEF achieves its mission primarily by providing grants to teachers for innovative and effective classroom teaching. Since its inception, the AEF has provided over $187,000 in teacher grants and student scholarships. Today, even greater need exists as Illinois continues to be plagued with fiscal woes which delay timely payments to schools, while simultaneously requiring new national programs to improve overall learning. Funding for the implementation of new federal standards creates a need, and an opportunity for the community to help.

In response to these current and future educational needs, the AEF is pleased to announce the launch of its Guardians of Education program. The Guardians of Education campaign offers members of the community a unique chance to aid the educational opportunities of Alton students. The youth of today will be the citizenry of tomorrow. It behooves all community members to see that every child receives a first rate education, has the opportunity to excel in the field of his or her choice and become a vital, involved citizen in the community.

The Guardians program takes an inclusive approach, with individual and business membership levels ranging from $5 per year to $1,000 or more dollars per year depending on the means of the donor. Through Guardians for Education, the AEF hopes to generate a reliable stream of revenue to help supplement the District’s ever-changing educational needs and requirements. Membership contributions are tax deductible.

The Alton School District has always been committed to providing academic excellence. The District must now build on a record of success with its accelerated learning programs and tremendous dual eligible college credit opportunities and must meet and exceed the new and evolving national standards.

People often wonder what they can do to improve their communities. Here is a golden opportunity! Become a Guardian of Education! Invest in Alton by supporting the education of its future leaders and community! Every dollar contributed will go to fund programs to raise academic excellence and promote student achievement! Members will be recognized on the AEF website and newsletter, and depending on the amount of the contribution, will receive and AEF decal, invitation to an annual breakfast, passes for District events, name on engraved plaques in school lobbies, and individual engrave plaques for business lobbies.

Your support makes the difference! Membership contributions may be made by mail to the Alton Educational Foundation, PO Box 514, Alton, Illinois 62002.

List of Donors

Emeritus Donors ($1,000 and above) – HWRT Oil Company, Joseph & Catherine Johnson Family Foundation, Karen Wilson State Farm, Liberty Bank, Phillips 66, Charles & Joan Sheppard

Valedictorian Donors ($500 – $999) – Kirstie Baumgartner, CNB Bank & Trust, Catherine & Mark Droste, , Melody Favazza, Kenny & Cindy Inman, Phil & Teri Trapani

Salutatorian Donors ($250 – $499) – Karen Botterbush, David & Paula Fritz, Edmond Gray, CB & Ellen Jackson, Brenda Walker McCain, Doug & Stephanie Mendenhall, Laura & Todd Plummer, Theresa & Reuben Willis

High Honor Roll Donors ($50 – $249) – Wendy Adams, Shirley Aszman, John Bannister, Julie & Ethan Basler, Steve & Barb Batchelor, Larry & Barb Bellm, Michael Bellm, Sonja Collins-Fordson, Sandra Crawford, John Cunningham, Dr. Robert & Mrs. Denby, Gary Dunn, Julie Gallivan, Timothy Grant, Rene Hart, Laura Hill, Tawnya Hooper, David & Barb Jacks, Melissa King, Michelle & Thomas Klasner, Angela Laaker, Victoria Lehman, Angela & Reid McDowell, Ann McLaughlin, Jody Meggos, Vivian Monckton, Dale & Carol Neudecker, Laura & Rodney O’dell, Debra Penning, Brian & Kristen Saenz, Stacy Saffell, Patrick & Laura Shansey, Katie & Steve Slater, Kenneth Spells, Julie Spurgeon, Denise & Matthew Stidd, Elyse Tillman, Marjorie Wheeler, Tom & Nita Whitten, Pamela Wickenhauser, Lynda Willings, Jenn Young

Honor Roll Donors ($5 – $49) – Susan & Daniel Beers, Trudi Douglas, Kimberly Engelman, Julie Gorsage, Paije Hamilton, Linda Lamb, Karen & Robert Lowe, Janis Northway, Nancy Simpson, Amy Strobel, Ruth & Roger Waggener, Danette & Walter Watt